The National Department of Health (NDoH) through a closed bid invited Universities to test contracting mechanisms where Universities can support National Health Insurance (NHI) reforms for a period of 3 years by offering administrative and technical support to the NDoH in respect of the provision of health care services in 9 provinces through contracting health care professionals.


The intention of the bid was to develop a service delivery model leveraging the relationship between Universities, especially those with medical schools and schools of public health, and various disciplines of health professionals.  The Universities will act as a strategic partner for the purchasing of services.  Additionally, Universities train the professionals in accredited facilities and thus will assist in employing graduates to provide services while they complete their statutory internship/community service period.


Six (6) Universities responded to the bid as a ‘Universities Consortium’ (UC) with the University of Witwatersrand identified as the Prime.   The Universities Consortium comprises of the following members:


  • University of Witwatersrand
  • Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University
  • University of Fort Hare
  • University of Pretoria
  • Nelson Mandela University
  • University of the Free State


Wits Health Consortium (Pty) Ltd have been contracted as the Project Management Unit (PMU)


For more information please contact info@universitiesconsortium.co.za


Visit https://www.witshealth.co.za for more information on who we are.